Canadian Wildlife Federation LogoEnvironment and Climate Change Canada Logo




We would like to thank the following persons and organizations for their contribution in the development of the Hinterland Who’s Who:

Environment Canada

Canadian Wildlife Federation

Hinterland Who’s Who Steering Committee: Annie Langlois, Pamela Logan, Danielle Gagnon, Sean Brillant, Blaine Mohninger

Program Manager: Annie Langlois

InMotion Production Team: , Pat McGowan

Music: Ed Egan Twelfth Root

McMillan Website Development Team: : Rob Hyams, Jake Volt, M.J. Heal, Gina Becker, Jenna Fowler, Al Brunet, Kevin Kelly, Kevin Holmes

Hinterland Who’s Who Web site

For the use of valuable content from the following publications:

Below Zero Activity Guide: Canadian Wildlife Federation
Backyard Habitat for Canada’s Wildlife: Canadian Wildlife Federation
Hinterland Who’s Who fact sheets: Canadian Wildlife Service
Leatherback Seaturtle fact sheet: Department of Fisheries and Oceans with the Canadian Wildlife Service

For the use of materials from the following Web sites:,,,,,,

For special permission to post “spoof” Hinterland Who’s Who clips:

The Mountain Kangaroo –- Canadian Magazine Publishers Association 2002

Fans –- The Ottawa Senators Hockey Club

The Woodchuck –- The Second City

Curling Lead –- TSN

Curling Second –- TSN

Curling Vice –- TSN

Hinterland Who’s Who Factsheets:

Writers, editors, and translators (if not credited on the factsheet): Michèle Poirier, Louise Saint-André, Paddy Muir, Andrée Marcotte, Geneviève Longchamps, Jennifer Poulin and Nadine Cardinal, Claire Dupond, Natalie Cadieux, Louis Majeau, Ginette Bertrand, Isabelle Paradis

Hinterland Who’s Who Public Service Announcements

Narrators and on-camera hosts:

Jody Gienow - Muskoka Wildlife Centre

Louis-René Sénéchal - National Capital Commission

Lorraine Ansel; Louise Villeneuve - The Mensour Agency

Nicole Blundell – AKA Talent Agency

Scientific review of Public Service Announcements

Mary Rothfels, Russ Weeber, Don Lafontaine, Nick Lunn, Ian Stirling, Chris Harvey Clark, Mike James, Kathleen Martin

Stock Footage

Common Loon – Conquest Films, John Petrella
Monarch Butterfly – Eco-Art Productions Inc., Norm Lightfoot
Leatherback Seaturtle – Nova Scotia Leatherback Turtle Working Group,; Scott A. Eckert, Ph.D. WIDECAST,; Jim Abernethy's Scuba Adventures, Inc.
Polar Bear – Karvonen Films Ltd.,

Other contributors:

City of Ottawa; National Capital Commission; The Mensour Agency; Green Drake Outfitters; Artistic Landscape Designs; AKA Talent Agency; OC Transpo; Leatherback Project,; Jim Rudkoski & Derek Goltz; 3D Graphic Designer (Bat/Moth Animation)Raul Castillo-Negrin,